Welcome to Education Service Commission

The Education Service Commission is established by article 167 91) of the 1995 constitution of the republic of Uganda and article 168 (1) sets out its functions, authority and autonomy in implementing its mandate.

Strategic Objectives of the Commission

The approved structure of the Commission comprises two Departments and three Support Units

  • The Education Service Department
  • The Finance and Administration Department
  • The Policy Analysis Unit, Information Science Unit and Procurement Unit

 Key functions of the Commission

The following functions of the Commission are spelt out in Section 8 of the Education Service Act, 2002

  1. To advise the President in performing his or her functions in relation to the Education Service as stipulated under Article 172 of the Constitution.
  2. To appoint persons to hold or act in any office in the Education Service, to confirm such appointments, to exercise disciplinary control over such persons and to remove them from office.

Recent Highlights

5th, March 2015

Shortlisted Applicants for aptitude test Teaching Staff

Shortlisted Applicants for aptitude test teaching staff 13th march 2015 starting at 09:00 am (UMA) Lugogo show grounds conference hall at Uganda manufacturers association
20th, January 2015


Applications are invited from suitably qualified persons to fill the posts that have fallen vacant in the Ministries of : Education and Sports, Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries.